Tags

, , ,


This is probably an understatement, but entrepreneurs are some of the busiest people around. A day in my life as an is chock-full of business decisions, research and networking. Because there’s so much to do and so little time to do so, I can easily get off track and become distracted with nonessentials.

When I chat or listen to some of my successful friends they all have routines that help them to steer themselves success.

As a mentor I often am asked why I do on a day to day basis to keep myself in check.

The first step is to establish a routine.

When it comes to me I have a MTWTF routine. What does this mean?

On Monday I review my emails and speak with my employees to see what we can do better. Tuesday I concentrate on my product and look of ways to improve it. Wednesdays we look at marketing the product and ways of building its branding. Thursdays I like to develop my product and build up partnerships. On Friday its all about cultivating company culture and recruiting new staff.

The second step is to meditate and exercise.

When I get up I have a shower and get ready. Then I take my puppy for a two kilometre walk and grab a coffee on my way home. Now we are in Brisbane we are walking around the river more and more. This has allowed me to drop about twenty kilograms and allows me to bond with my dog.

When I get home I feed my dog and take about ten minutes to meditate.

The third daily routine is to always check up on my work.

As an entrepreneur, I get extremely busy. In fact, I may be so focused on the task at hand that you may have neglected a couple of really important things. That’s why at some point during the day you should check in on a range tasks.

I make a list of tasks that need to be completed.

Finally, spend time every day to follow up with clients or peers via phone calls or emails. These days it’s not wasting time to check email. You never know what important message you might miss if you don’t take the time to go through your in-box.

The fourth step is to spend time with family and friends.

I often use to find this hard. I was engaged once and lost this person because my work took over my life and I didn’t spend time with this person.

Remember to not bring your work life home with you.

When you spend time with the most important people in your life, it not only clears your head. It also helps you remember what you’re fighting for.

The final step and something I do at the end of each day. Plan ahead!

When you arrange before going to bed at least a couple of tasks or goals for the next day, you’re more likely to wake up and start on the project at hand. This can also help you create priorities in your schedule for the following day instead of letting thoughts of unfinished work accumulate. Plus, this evening time is a good time to get some work done because everyone is probably asleep or about to drift off. President Obama, for example, seems to have perfected the art of getting ready for tomorrow the night before.

I’m sure we all have our routines but these are mine. I highly suggest you follow this.